Creating Minimalist Posters with Illustrator

When told to create a movie poster, the amount of different ideas I had were overwhelming. I wasn’t sure which movies to pick or which program to use. After researching different minimalist movie posters online, it was easy to grasp the concept and I couldn’t wait to get started. The program I decided to use was Illustrator because I thought the pen tool would be the easiest way to create simple yet accurate shapes. I did the poster for Moulin Rouge first. I saved the image from Google and brought it into illustrator. From there, I traced over desired sections with the pen tool and chose solid colors to keep the minimalist feel. This was the best way to keep the realistic outlines of the character’s hair and clothing. After rearranging the shapes, playing with different colors and positioning type, I was happy with the outcome. I then moved onto the Austin Powers movie poster and followed the same process. My results were two minimalistic movie posters that captured the theme of the movies.

Leave a comment